ABOUT US

Scandinavian American Theater Company (SATC) is a non-profit theater company founded to provide Scandinavian perspectives through the new generation of Scandinavian playwrights and theater artists. We present contemporary plays and inventive takes on the classics from the Nordic region, which includes Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Denmark, Greenland, and the Faroe Islands.

We are committed to strengthening the relationship between Scandinavia and the United States through collaborations and interdisciplinary artistic exchange that examine and challenge the cultural status quo.

Since 2009, we have presented 14 fully staged productions, 45 readings, 7 original audio experiences, and worked with over 250 actors, 59 playwrights, and 28 directors. Our work is regularly reviewed both in the U.S. press, including The New York Times, The New Yorker, and Time Out, as well as in Scandinavian press.

We are the largest gateway for Nordic talent to present their work in the United States. Our close relationship with all the Nordic consulates and art councils offers invaluable support alongside the financial support provided by foundations, organizations and valued donors. 

For more information on how to support us, click here

THE SATC TEAM

Halla

Hallfridur Thora Tryggvadottir

Artistic Director

halla@satcnyc.org

Vanessa

Vanessa Johansson

Literary Director

vanessa@satcnyc.org

Ida

Ida Biering

Literary Manager

ida@satcnyc.org

wasi

Kwasi Osei

Marketing Director

kwasi@satcnyc.org

Jason

Jason Beckmann

Personell Coordinator

jason@satcnyc.org

Martina

Martina Djerf

Development

martina@satcnyc.org

Ingrid

Ingrid Kullberg-Bendz

Events Coordinator

ingrid@satcnyc.org

Lucas

Lucas Serby

Development

lucas@satcnyc.org

BOARD

Francesco Sapienza for Embrace Your Face

Albert Bendix

Co-Founder

Henning

Henning Hegland

Co-Founder

Lisa

Lisa E. Laskaridis

President

Annemette

Annemette Andersen

Board Member

Martin

Martin Trautmann

Treasurer

Jens

Jens Brandt Nellegaard

Secretary

FOUNDING MEMBERS

Lisa Bearpark (Sweden/USA)
Albert Bendix (Denmark)
Henning Hegland (Norway)
Anette Norgaard (Denmark)
Sebastian Nyman Agdur (Sweden/UK)
Jane Pejtersen (Denmark/USA)
Vigdis Hentze Olsen (The Faroe Islands)