ABOUT US

Scandinavian American Theater Company (SATC) is a non-profit theater company founded to provide Scandinavian perspectives through the new generation of Scandinavian playwrights and theater artists. We present contemporary plays and inventive takes on the classics from the Nordic region, which includes Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Denmark, Greenland, and the Faroe Islands.

We are committed to strengthening the relationship between Scandinavia and the United States through collaborations and interdisciplinary artistic exchange that examine and challenge the cultural status quo.

Since our founding, we have presented 14 fully staged productions, 44 readings, and worked with more than 250 actors, 52 playwrights and 26 directors. Our work is regularly reviewed both in the U.S. press, including The New York Times, The New Yorker, and Time Out, as well as in Scandinavian press.

We are the largest gateway for Nordic talent to present their work in the United States. Our close relationship with all the Nordic consulates and art councils offers invaluable support alongside the financial support provided by foundations, organizations and valued donors. 

For more information on how to support us, click here

THE SATC TEAM

Hallfridur Thora Tryggvadottir
Artistic Director
halla@satcnyc.org

10312018_Halla_0458

Vanessa Johansson
Literary Director
vanessa@satcnyc.org

VJ28

Ida Biering
Literary Manager
ida@satcnyc.org

IdaBiering

Jason Beckmann
Personnel Coordinator
jason@satcnyc.org

70_web

Kwasi Osei
Marketing Director
kwasi@satcnyc.org

457465_10150590290092031_56154080_o

Ingrid Kullberg-Bendz
Events coordinator
ingrid@satcnyc.org

Ingrid Kullberg-Bendz MP IMG_0562 bb

Martina Djerf
Development
martina@satcnyc.org

Martina Djerf Headshot

Lucas Serby
Development
lucas@satcnyc.org

Lucas Serby Headshot

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Albert Bendix
Co-Founder

Francesco Sapienza for Embrace Your Face

Henning Hegland
Co-Founder

P1000928

Lisa E. Laskaridis
President

IMG_1201

Jens Brandt Nellegaard
Secretary

BKA_0085-1166-E

Annemette Andersen
Board Member

Headshot

Martin Trautmann
Treasurer

trautmann_martin_1450x663

FOUNDING MEMBERS

Lisa Bearpark (Sweden/USA)
Albert Bendix (Denmark)
Henning Hegland (Norway)
Anette Norgaard (Denmark)
Sebastian Nyman Agdur (Sweden/UK)
Jane Pejtersen (Denmark/USA)
Vigdis Hentze Olsen (The Faroe Islands)